Vote on the
Winter 2011 Board Slate



AIGA Minnesota Welcomes
Director of Diversity and Inclusion

Minnesota is pleased to announce that a new member has been elected to serve on the organization’s board of directors, effective immediately.

Click here to cast your ballot

Online balloting is being conducted now through
5:00pm on Thursday, December 29, 2011.

Winter 2011 slate of nominees

The following nominees for the AIGA Minnesota board of directors have been recommended by a nominating committee. Professional- and associate-level members of AIGA Minnesota should vote either for or against the entire slate:

According to AIGA Minnesota’s bylaws, only professional- and associate-level members in good standing are entitled to vote in board member elections; student members are not entitled to vote.

Katrin Loss, nominee for director of operations

Katrin has been a member of AIGA since 1999 and an active member of AIGA Minnesota since 2002—chairing the Luncheon Lectures series from 2003–2010 as well as serving in a variety of roles including the Business Leaders’ Forum, the AIGA/Art Buddies fundraiser, Studio Tours and Design Show. In 2007, she joined AIGA Minnesota’s board of directors as the Associate Director, Luncheons and, in 2009, transitioned to her current role of Director of Operations in support of the executive team and, specifically, AIGA Minnesota’s programming needs.

An award-winning designer, Katrin has extensive experience in graphic design and brand development working in studio and in-house environments serving a wide variety of corporate, small business and non-profit clients. Katrin is a graduate of the Minneapolis College of Art and Design with a BFA in graphic design, and also holds a degree in business administration and international trade from Staatliche Handelsschule in Hamburg, Germany. Her background in design and business has allowed her to gain global work experience from companies such as Panasonic Germany, Best Buy, Barnes & Noble, Target, and 3M.

Kirstie Walheim, nominee for treasurer

Kirstie is the currently-serving Treasurer for AIGA Minnesota, but she wasn’t always interested in numbers. After graduating from St. Cloud State University with a BFA, Kirstie began her career as the co-owner of a design studio located in St. Paul. While honing her design and business skills, she discovered that her talents and interests went beyond design, crossing over into finance. As a result, she continued her entrepreneurial ways by switching disciplines to launch a business that offers financial management support and analysis for artists and creatives.

Kirstie still expresses her creativity through her passion for book arts and is a tireless advocate for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

Current board

Current voting members of the AIGA Minnesota board of directors continuing their service are:

  • Rachel Christenson, secretary
  • Seth Engman, director of legacy programming
  • Stefan Hartung, director of programming opportunities
  • Joe Isaak, director of development
  • Seth Johnson, president
  • Evelyn Kokes, director of interactive management
  • Sam Michaels, director of membership
  • Jennifer Price, director of education
  • Jenny Schmitz-Hinshaw, director of affinity programming
  • Jen Soik, vice president
  • Brent Stickels, director of communications
  • Lisa Valley, director of volunteers

Click here to cast your ballot