Pivot: WOMN



AIGA Minnesota Welcomes
Director of Diversity and Inclusion

Minnesota is pleased to announce that a new member has been elected to serve on the organization’s board of directors, effective immediately.

October 27th, 4:30pm
until 6:00pm

The College of Visual Arts Gallery

Add to Calendar

iCal Google Calendar

This time around, Pivot is being hosted by the AIGA Student Group at the College of Visual Arts.

The Pivot portion of the Leaders of Design Series is a special, exclusive session for student members of the AIGA community to interact with Jo Davison and Sharon Werner, from the Leaders of Design Series, and get a pre-opening sneak preview of the gallery.


Students and faculty of the host school (CVA): FREE, but you MUST register in advance with your AIGA Student Group if you would like to attend. Please do not use this website to register for the event if you are a CVA student or faculty member.

AIGA Members: FREE, advance registration is required.
Non-members: $10, advance registration is required.

Register now »

*Your registration receipt will also have a link to submit questions for the designers prior to attending Pivot. Students are separately encouraged to register and attend The Leaders of Design Series on Wednesday evening. The CVA Leaders of Design WOMN Exhibition runs through November 13.

Free parking is available on the street and in the CVA lot.


WOMN: Women in Minnesota Design

Honoring Women Who’ve Helped Put Minnesota on the Map With Graphic Design that’s Conceptual, Meaningful, Inspiring, Hard Working, and Pretty Powerful.

The fall 2011 Leaders of Design Series, celebrating women who have helped put Minnesota on the map with graphic design that’s conceptual, meaningful, inspiring, hard working, and pretty powerful. The series includes a moderated panel discussion and exhibition. Twenty-three industry-leading women were selected to exhibit their design work at the CVA Gallery from October 27 through November 13, 2011. Criteria for selection included leadership, innovation, influence, accolades for design excellence, and longevity in Minnesota.

Featured Designers

Leslee Carsewell
Sue Crolick
Jo Davison
Laurie DeMartino
Nancy Gardner
Minda Gralnek
Linda Henneman
Susan Hopp
Laurie Jacobi
Haley Johnson
Katie Kirk
Cynthia Knox
Monica Little
Deb Miner
Miranda Moss
Kelly Munson
Sarah Nelson Forss
Kolean Pitner
Nancy Rice
Connie Soteropulos
Jane Tilka
Cheryl Watson
Sharon Werner

Presented by the College of Visual Arts Leaders of Design Series

Sponsored by AIGA Minnesota

About Pivot

The Pivot Series is designed as an opportunity for AIGA student groups to develop programming for their fellow students who reside and study in the upper Midwest.

Contact student representative Jamie Larson for more information.


About Leaders of Design

The annual CVA Leaders of Design Series showcases exemplary design through a public lecture and exhibition program, demonstrating past accomplishments and current trends in graphic, interactive, product, furniture, and industrial design.

The College of Visual Arts is a private, accredited, four-year college of art and design offering a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in fine arts, graphic design, illustration, interdisciplinary design studies, and photography. Founded in 1924, the college is located in the thriving urban residential areas of historic Summit Avenue and Ramsey Hill in Saint Paul, Minnesota. CVA began the Leaders of Design Series in 2005. Past lectures and exhibitions have featured Larsen Design, Michael Vanderbyl, Steven Heller, Blu Dot Design and Manufacturing, and Communication Arts magazine.